Kataklò Athletic Dance Theatre
T: (+39)3497972768
Office & Management 
Artistic Direction
Giulia Staccioli

Taobuk SeeSicily



The curtain opens, the agora of thought comes alive, great music takes the stage with violinist David Garrett. On Saturday, June 17, at 9 p.m., the traditional Taobuk Gala Night returns, in its 13th edition. The setting, as per tradition, is the Teatro Antico in Taormina, cradle and center of gravity of the Mediterranean and for one night the stage that will host the Taobuk Awards.

During the evening, which will be aired on Rai1, French Nobel laureate Annie Ernaux, Iranian Azar Nafisi and American Joyce Carol Oates will be honored with the Taobuk Award for Literary Excellence. Three female figures, distant in human and artistic itinerary and yet related, united by a sharp, probing pen and social commitment. To shake consciences, break ranks, shatter the glass ceiling, rethink society, reforming and educating it for freedom starting with the emancipation of women.

Receiving the Taobuk Award will be world-renowned violinist David Garrett, who will perform with the orchestra of Catania’s Teatro Massimo Bellini, conducted by maestro Gianna Fratta.

It could not miss, again this year, the Taobuk Award for Science, which will be given to David Quammen, whose extensive outreach work has assumed planetary resonance following the spread of the zoonotic pandemic, which he predicted in Spillover back in 2012.

If Annie Ernaux, author of such masterpieces as. The years, The Event e The Place, makes writing a political act for gender equality, Azar Nafisi, in his manifesto work Reading Lolita in Theran, launches a revolutionary cry that is both a gasp of feminist pride, a glimmer of light and a call for help against all totalitarianism and all forms of censorship. Thus, following the same paradigm, Joyce Carol Oates denounces, in The Stray Children, Beasts, The Female of the Species and in Babysitter, the commodification of women and domestic violence.

Five protagonists of the literary, scientific and musical scene and a lowest common denominator: reflection on freedoms, in a plural declension that embraces the freedom of the individual and projects it into a shared universal space, breaking down the bottlenecks of thought, territorial boundaries and political, cultural and social barriers that hinder the most urgent trajectories of universal reasoning.

The Taobuk Gala is an event dedicated to excellence in literature and the arts and is held annually in the presence of the highest offices of state and in a succession of voices, reflections, readings, dance performances, musical performances and theatrical interventions.

Taobuk Award for Literary Excellence 2023 to Joyce Carol Oates

Taobuk Award for Literary Excellence 2023 to Azar Nafisi

Taobuk Award for Literary Excellence 2023 to Annie Ernaux

Taobuk Award 2023 to David Quammen

Taobuk Award 2023 to David Garrett


Source and Reservations: https://www.eventbrite.it/e/biglietti-taobuk-seesicily-serata-di-gala-616481742487

For more info: https://www.taobuk.it/